Skip to main content

T: 020 7353 8415

Apppointment as Chairman of Bishop's Disciplinary Tribunals

With effect from 1 April 2006, Charles George QC has been appointed to the Provincial Panels for Canterbury and York as a Chairman of Bishops' Disciplinary Tribunals, established under the Clergy Discipline Measure 2003, to hear complaints of misconduct against priests and deacons at diocesan level. In addition nominated chairmen may be appointed to chair the provincial court of the Vicar-General in disciplinary cases concerning bishops where the Vicar-General is unable to preside.

Each provincial panel consists of the President of Tribunals (Mummery LJ) and the Deputy President of Tribunals (HHJ John Bullimore) and ten legally qualified chairmen, nominated by the archbishop of the relevant province.
Whilst it is impossible to predict the number of cases to come before disciplinary tribunals, it is expected that each chairman will not be required to chair more than about two cases in year in total for both provinces.

Charles George QC will continue in office as Chancellor of the Diocese of Southwark.