Skip to main content

T: 020 7353 8415

  • Glass building

    "It is an excellent clerking team lead by senior clerk Paul Coveney. They are really approachable, friendly and responsive and they're very easy to have a close working relationship with."

    Chambers and Partners 2020, Client Service

Kingsland Cup and Prize Moot

Kingsland Cup and Prize Moot

With moots covering European, environmental and public law, the competition will take place over three rounds. The first round sees entrants judged on their skeleton arguments, with the top-scoring teams appearing at the semi-final in London before distinguished Court of Appeal and High Court judges in a full mock court in February.

The Grand Final was held in Courtroom 2 at the Old Bailey and was judged by Justice Sir Ross Cranston, professor of law at London School of Economics and a retired High Court judge. Comparable arrangements for this year's final are to be confirmed closer to the time.

For full details, incuding the First Round problem, Competition Rules and FAQs, please download the Kingsland Cup Guide by clicking here.

*TYPO CORRECTION* Please note that on line 2 of paragraph 10 to the first round moot problem, the reference to “the Claimant” should read as a reference to “the Interested Party’s representatives”

Prizes will be awarded to both the runners up and overall winners.

The semi-finals were held remotely on 23 and 28 of July with teams from Nottingham Law School, UCL and City, University of London.

Congratulations to the finalists: 

Jack Stuart and Jack Moore (Nottingham Law School) and Natalie Nguyen and Nicholas Jones (City, University of London)

The final is due to take place in the autumn this year.

All queries relating to the FTB Kingsland Cup and Prize Moot should be directed to

Read Chambers Student guide to mooting which focuses on the Kingsland Cup as an example moot.

Previous Competitions:

The FTB Kingsland Cup and Moot Prize competition has been running annually since 2011. Below is a list of all previous winners:

2018/2019  Jessica Allen and Richard Mahal (City Law School)

2017/18 Jared Kang and Rabin Kok (University of Cambridge)

2016/17 Harriet Fitzsimons and Sarah-Jane Ewart (City Law School)

2015/16 Esther Drabkin-Reiter and Ryan Ferro (City Law School)

Winners Kingsland Cup Prize Moot 2016

Final judged by Lord Kerr of Tonaghmore

2014/15 Rachael Muldoon and Ng Lee Vin (BPP Law School)

Kingsland Cup Winners 2015

Final judged by Lord Kerr of Tonaghmore, HHJ Hone QC and HHJ Marks QC

2013/14  Victoria Brown and Daira Popescu (Kaplan Law School)

Kingsland Cup Winners 2014

Final judged by Lord Carnwath of Notting Hill 

2012/13  Martin Edwards and Joel McMillian (BPP Law School)

Kingsland Cup Winners 2013

Final judged by Lord Carnwath of Notting Hill 

2011/12  Julia Petrenko and Grace Hansen (Kaplan Law School)

Kingsland Cup Winners 2012

Final judged by Lord Carnwath of Notting Hill 

Follow us on Twitter @FTB_Pupillage

Chambers and Partners Student Guide